I had a dream the other night. I was back in high school in the only lecture hall in the whole building. The room was packed, just like it was on the last day of school. It was a geography class, and our assignment was to answer questions about an educational Monty Python ripoff film featuring two self-deprecating English hosts.

Eventually the class ended and everyone started packing up. I was about to put the assignment into my bag when someone leaned into my field of vision. It was an old friend as well as her friend whom I have a regret filled history with. They were asking whether or not I cried about something. I don't think I answered.

The rest of the dream was all surrealistic bullshit but what stands out is how normal that segment was. It felt like I was actually talking to her again. Just like the good ol' days.